The Deer

Described as transcendental Texas folk and stargaze surf-western, The Deer create psychotropic soundscapes and tranquil, vivid dream-pop. They are at once lyrical and experiential, magnetic and evocative. The group formed in 2012 while recording work by singer/songwriter Grace Park (The Blue Hit), and soon developed into a collaboratively-composed unit. Park’s voice and presence are captivating, upright bassist Jesse Dalton (MilkDrive) has a songwriting mouth of a saint and a devil, lead guitarist Michael McLeod (Good Field, Richard Linklater film composer) expertly captains sound production, and drummer Alan Eckert sings with soulful rhythm and finesse. Together, The Deer have created a dynamic collection of songs ranging between the blissful and euphoric to the dark and the dangerous. They’ve played Austin’s historical Moody Theater and festivals like SXSW, Art Outside, and Utopiafest. Members have shared the stage with The Head & The Heart, The Lumineers, Alejandro Escovedo, Peter Rowan, Tim O’Brien, and Dana Falconberry. With rotating guest multi-instrumentalists such as Roger Sellers and Dennis Ludiker, they move fluidly between genres and activate the imagination. November 2015, The Deer will release a single from their upcoming third album, titled . The new single “Do Return” is an ornately layered, post-apocalyptic exploration of expression. The LP is due for release April 2016, and will be available for pre-order soon.

Comments are closed.

Artist Links

Visit Website

Powered by